Counting of votes tomorrow

All arrangements are in place for tomorrow’s counting of votes for elections to Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Mizoram Assemblies.

In Chhattisgarh, the stage is all set for election verdict with the counting of votes and result declaration scheduled for tomorrow. The ruling BJP holds 49 seats in the 90 member assembly, while Congress holds 39 seats and others just 2.

The 20-day long wait for results of Chhattisgarh assembly elections will come to an end tomorrow where 1269 candidates are testing their electoral fortunes.

In Madhya Pradesh, the entire counting process will be video-graphed. Over 75 per cent polling was recorded in the state on the 28th of last month. Our correspondent reports that the counting of votes will be done in 306 counting rooms.

In Rajasthan, counting will take place for 199 seats out of 200 assembly constituencies. The election was countermanded in Ramgarh assembly constituency due to death of BSP candidate.

In Telangana, counting centres have been set up at 43 locations most of which are at district headquarters. The EVMs are kept under three-tier security. Tight vigil and CCTV cameras surveillance are being maintained. 73.2 per cent polling was recorded in Friday’s polling.

In Mizoram, where polling was held on the 28th of last month, counting will be held in 40 counting halls spreading 13 counting centres. To supervise the counting process, observers and micro-observers will be deployed in all counting centres.